Church of England

BBC’s Rev and Evangelism

  • Tuesday, April 15, 2014

By John Martin • Tom Hollander’s portrayal of the hapless East London vicar Adam Smallbone has achieved a cult following.

Peace Breaks Out at Synod

  • Monday, November 25, 2013

The anger, bitterness, and recriminations of last year were absent in this year’s debate on women in the episcopate.

‘No Longer Messing About’

  • Monday, October 28, 2013

By Philip Harrold • No report from the Church of England has sold so well or generated so much reflection as Mission-shaped Church.

Priest: Choose Church Unity

  • Tuesday, July 16, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Callan Slipper: “Deliberately choose to love one another. That deliberate choice makes the difference.”

Synod Slogs through in York

  • Thursday, July 11, 2013

By John Martin • No substantial decisions emerge from General Synod’s summer session.

Living with Difference

  • Monday, June 24, 2013

By Colin Podmore
I fight to keep the church broad and tolerant, to enable traditional Christians not just to remain but to flourish.

Why Ignore Wisdom?

  • Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Theologian Andrew Goddard evaluates the Church of England’s Men and Women in Marriage.

Names Govern Thought

  • Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Church of England’s marriage report: “[N]ames govern how we think, and how we think governs what we learn to appreciate.”

Policy Change as an Aside

  • Tuesday, January 15, 2013

By John Martin
The vigilant Church Times reporter Ed Thornton managed a notable scoop.

Two Archbishops’ Sorrow

  • Monday, January 7, 2013

Archbishop of Uganda: “Our grief and sense of betrayal are beyond words.”

Pages