Diocese of South Carolina

U.S. Judge Tosses Lawsuit

  • Friday, August 23, 2013

Claims involving the Diocese of South Carolina will be resolved in state courts.

A Provisional Solution

  • Tuesday, July 2, 2013

By Mark McCall
South Carolina does not understand itself to be an alternative jurisdiction but only to remain the diocese it has always been.

Judge Remands S.C. Case

  • Monday, June 10, 2013

“[F]ederal question jurisdiction could potentially be expanded to all cases containing tacit First Amendment issues.”

Beyond Provincialism

  • Wednesday, May 22, 2013

By Colin Podmore
In the Anglican Communion, what’s true for dioceses is true for provinces.

Don’t Cheat the Prophet

  • Friday, May 17, 2013

By William G. Witt. There is no reason to presume that South Carolina’s declaring itself an extra-provincial diocese is more than an ad hoc solution.

Why Provinces Matter

  • Thursday, May 16, 2013

By Jesse Zink. The pernicious hermeneutic of self-justification remains a constant temptation.

Going Federal in Charleston

  • Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Bishop Charles G. vonRosenberg has filed suit against Bishop Mark J. Lawrence in a U.S. District Court.

Being a People of Peace

  • Friday, February 15, 2013

Commentary by Jordan Hylden
In working to love one another, a good place to start would be by not suing one another.

Speaking of Reconciliation

  • Friday, February 8, 2013

By Eric Turner
If we seek healing and reconciliation, we must resist the temptation to demonize those with whom we disagree.

Deference vs. Neutral Principles

  • Wednesday, January 23, 2013

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald
“When neutral principles of law are applied … local churches often win.”

Pages