Essays & Reviews

Diagnosis of a Stalled Covenant

  • Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Review by Colin Podmore
The Anglican Covenant has been unable to escape from the context that gave rise to it.

Uganda’s Lessons of Inclusion

  • Monday, April 22, 2013

By Steven R. Ford
Real unity is the fruit of persuasion and of compromise, and not simply of driving out opposition.

Your Parish and Global Mission

  • Wednesday, April 17, 2013

By Julian D. Linnell
The Beja Arabs of Sudan do not have a church in their own language to attend. That’s equivalent to the population of Louisville.

Muscular Mission

  • Monday, April 15, 2013

Review by Jesse Zink
Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and the Nike theology of mission.

Making Room for Conservatives

  • Thursday, April 11, 2013

By Christopher Wells
Second in a series: If the Episcopal Church preserves diversity it will not be by accident but by deliberate choice of the majority party.

Ten Theses for Seminaries

  • Monday, April 8, 2013

By George Sumner
The radical structural change foretold in the Pusey Report of 1967 is upon us.

Making Room for Conservatives

  • Friday, April 5, 2013

By Christopher Wells
Theological conservatives take a revealed body of texts as normative, across time and space.

Primitive Prayer

  • Friday, March 29, 2013

By Patrick T. Twomey
Late second-century Christianity offers a dramatic display of what prayer cannot do, and a sign also of what it can do.

Guns, Faith, State

  • Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Yair Rosenberg writes that the theocratic impulse appears across the political spectrum.

No Rescue Required

  • Monday, March 18, 2013

Review by Jonathan Mitchican
The future of the Church is not to be found in our efforts to make it more relevant or attractive.

Pages