Essays & Reviews

Photo: Detail of St. Gregorius Nyssenus, by Bartolozzi
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:25am

We may not think of ourselves as idolaters. But lack of awareness is no adequate assurance that other deities haven’t set up shop in our lives.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 1:46pm

By Daniel Muth • If God is good, how can there be evil? To many a modern mind, it is the great atheist “gotcha!”

Friday, November 8, 2013 - 11:10am

By Daniel A. Westberg • Health is a self-evident good, with clear benefits for both the individual and the whole of society.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 3:35pm

By S.L. Woodford • “I can’t believe I lost my mother this morning,” I type.

Friday, November 1, 2013 - 7:11am

Review by Benjamin M. Guyer • What happens when we strip reproduction of its majesty and mystery?

Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 10:33am

By Daniel A. Westberg • In five eras of the last century a national health program for Americans was proposed with genuine hope for reform.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 7:18am

Review by David A. Kalvelage • A stunning book with more than 200 impressive photographs tells the story of the Church of the Transfiguration.

Monday, October 28, 2013 - 12:31pm

By Philip Harrold • No report from the Church of England has sold so well or generated so much reflection as Mission-shaped Church.

Friday, October 25, 2013 - 7:52am

By Randall Balmer • The smoking gun that Bishop Tengatenga’s adversaries brandished turned out to be not even a water pistol.

Friday, October 18, 2013 - 7:36am

By George Sumner • When a Church movement needs to mobilize its efforts and protest the culture’s corruptions, it will compose a confession.

Pages