Essays & Reviews

Moving past Goodbye

  • Friday, August 10, 2012

By Nathaniel W. Pierce
“Fixing” the problem always starts with “fixing” ourselves.

A Liturgical Evangelical

  • Monday, July 30, 2012

By Leonard Finn
Charles Simeon essentially seeks an anti-dogmatic dogmatics, a mode of doing theology, which is “Scriptural, in contradistinction to the systematic.

Editorial: One Flesh

  • Friday, July 27, 2012

By Christopher Wells
The leaders of the Episcopal Church now face a “Mauricean” moment, in which the nature and extent of our diversity will be decided.

Why the Papacy Matters

  • Friday, July 20, 2012

Review by John C. Bauerschmidt
Eamon Duffy’s new book does a good job of distilling two millennia of history into a short and manageable span.

Realism and Transcendence

  • Tuesday, July 17, 2012

By Dennis Raverty
American expatriate Henry Ossawa Tanner was a realist who convincingly painted an angel.

Implicitly Pro-life

  • Monday, July 16, 2012

The plot of Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 turns upon the decision to accept and preserve in safety an unborn child.

Practicing Nonviolence

  • Thursday, July 12, 2012

By Leander S. Harding
To what degree will the new teaching be made a status confessionis, that is, a teaching upon which the Church must unite or divide? This is unclear in light of its presentation as an act of the Holy Spirit, leaving the ominous implication that those who resist are quenching the Spirit.

Bowdlerized Catholicism

  • Wednesday, July 11, 2012

By Anthony F.M. Clavier
If “No Covenant,” what? How do Anglicans express a sound doctrine of the Church without competent instruments of unity?

Ordered Administration

  • Tuesday, July 3, 2012

By Cheryl White
The diocese has been the organizational framework for the life of the Church throughout the ages.

ACI on Title IV

  • Monday, July 2, 2012

The complaints are patently frivolous and should be dismissed at the outset.

Pages