Essays & Reviews

Friday, February 7, 2014 - 12:28pm
Review by Leonard Freeman • The main characters in American Hustle are not saints, but they could be first cousins of Abraham and Sarah, or Rahab.
Thursday, February 6, 2014 - 8:53am
Review by Joseph Goldkamp • Stephen Dykes Bower worked in the Gothic Revival vernacular favored at the end of the 19th century in Britain.
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 2:18pm
By Federico Serra-Lima • On December 6, 1273, St. Thomas Aquinas put down his pen, never to pick it up again.
Friday, January 17, 2014 - 11:28am
By Robert W. Jenson • Cardinal Ratzinger used to say that overcoming the Church’s divisions would require a great intervention of the Spirit.
Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 3:05pm
Review by Joseph L. Mangina • Two authors find the postliberal turn in theology worthy of sustained attention.
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 7:41am
Review by Leander S. Harding • D.G. Hart points out that non-Lutheran Reformed theology was a movement before Calvin became a Protestant.
Image: St. Paul by Masaccio [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons •
Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 7:59am
By Sarah Marie Gresser • When plans change my little brother, Peter, smiles and says, “Oh, I don’t mind it.”
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 7:47am
Review by Peter Eaton • Two encyclopedic works offer great riches for those who wish to wander farther in the field of Orthodox studies.
Friday, January 3, 2014 - 7:21am
Review by Leonard Freeman • “The devil can quote Scripture,” says an old aphorism.
Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 8:16am
Review by Oliver O’Donovan • In the new climate of contested Anglican identity the status of the Thirty-Nine Articles has evidently changed.