Essays & Reviews

Monday, July 30, 2012 - 5:39am

By Leonard Finn
Charles Simeon essentially seeks an anti-dogmatic dogmatics, a mode of doing theology, which is “Scriptural, in contradistinction to the systematic.

Friday, July 27, 2012 - 9:40am

By Christopher Wells
The leaders of the Episcopal Church now face a “Mauricean” moment, in which the nature and extent of our diversity will be decided.

Friday, July 20, 2012 - 6:48am

Review by John C. Bauerschmidt
Eamon Duffy’s new book does a good job of distilling two millennia of history into a short and manageable span.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012 - 3:54pm

By Dennis Raverty
American expatriate Henry Ossawa Tanner was a realist who convincingly painted an angel.

Monday, July 16, 2012 - 7:16am

The plot of Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84 turns upon the decision to accept and preserve in safety an unborn child.

Thursday, July 12, 2012 - 8:36am

By Leander S. Harding
To what degree will the new teaching be made a status confessionis, that is, a teaching upon which the Church must unite or divide? This is unclear in light of its presentation as an act of the Holy Spirit, leaving the ominous implication that those who resist are quenching the Spirit.

Wednesday, July 11, 2012 - 4:50pm

By Anthony F.M. Clavier
If “No Covenant,” what? How do Anglicans express a sound doctrine of the Church without competent instruments of unity?

Tuesday, July 3, 2012 - 6:37pm

By Cheryl White
The diocese has been the organizational framework for the life of the Church throughout the ages.

Monday, July 2, 2012 - 10:59am

The complaints are patently frivolous and should be dismissed at the outset.

Friday, June 29, 2012 - 7:45pm

By Michael B. Cover
We need to ask whether smaller dioceses present us with a problem to be solved or a parabolic challenge to be answered.

Pages