Essays & Reviews

The Awakening of Aquinas

  • Tuesday, January 28, 2014

By Federico Serra-Lima • On December 6, 1273, St. Thomas Aquinas put down his pen, never to pick it up again.

Ecumenism’s Strange Future

  • Friday, January 17, 2014

By Robert W. Jenson • Cardinal Ratzinger used to say that overcoming the Church’s divisions would require a great intervention of the Spirit.

Hanging On with Chalcedon

  • Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Review by Joseph L. Mangina • Two authors find the postliberal turn in theology worthy of sustained attention.

Calvinist History Proper

  • Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Review by Leander S. Harding • D.G. Hart points out that non-Lutheran Reformed theology was a movement before Calvin became a Protestant.

St. Paul and My Brother Peter

  • Thursday, January 9, 2014

By Sarah Marie Gresser • When plans change my little brother, Peter, smiles and says, “Oh, I don’t mind it.”

Eastern Siblings

  • Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Review by Peter Eaton • Two encyclopedic works offer great riches for those who wish to wander farther in the field of Orthodox studies.

‘This Is Sin’

  • Friday, January 3, 2014

Review by Leonard Freeman • “The devil can quote Scripture,” says an old aphorism.

Thirty-Nine Articles Revived

  • Wednesday, January 1, 2014

Review by Oliver O’Donovan • In the new climate of contested Anglican identity the status of the Thirty-Nine Articles has evidently changed.

Baptism at a Distance

  • Tuesday, December 31, 2013

By Calvin Lane and Rob W. Courtney • “Hello, Father, I’d like to have my baby baptized at your church.”

Hope from Humility

  • Monday, December 30, 2013

Review by Jonathan Kanary • Even in the ordinary give-and-take of human relationships and endeavors, our efforts are never quite adequate.

Pages