Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, January 13, 2016 - 5:00am

Jesus’ ministry and the witness of the New Testament writers both point toward the need for grace and truth.

Image: “Flight into Egypt” by Giotto, via Wikimedia Commons • http://is.gd/HVpRpd
Thursday, December 24, 2015 - 5:27am

Is the Roman Caesar lord and god, or is the babe of Bethlehem?

Thursday, December 10, 2015 - 11:35am

Recommendations from friends of The Living Church

Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 7:06am

Anglo-Catholic bishops seek “to shape understanding and custom that will engender trust.”

Friday, December 4, 2015 - 1:29pm

Actor Alex Gwyther’s ‘Our Friends, the Enemy,’ a one-man play, depicts the Christmas Truce during World War I.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 6:24am

Ten books for Advent and Christmas

Friday, November 6, 2015 - 9:42am

Brian d’Arcy James, a lifelong Roman Catholic, plays a reporter in ‘Spotlight.’

Image by James Chan/Pixabay, via Wikimedia Commons • http://is.gd/e5JDQN
Thursday, October 22, 2015 - 2:50pm

Communal forms of prayer start to lose depth if they do not oscillate with solitary personal engagement with God.

Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 9:34am

The stories in ‘Accidental Saints’ are at their core about one leader’s constant need for Jesus.

Tuesday, October 13, 2015 - 8:14am

The Trappistine Cistercian monastery of Vitorchiano has a unique modern history of growing numbers of Sisters.