Essays & Reviews

Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 7:41am
Review by Leander S. Harding • D.G. Hart points out that non-Lutheran Reformed theology was a movement before Calvin became a Protestant.
Image: St. Paul by Masaccio [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons • http://goo.gl/I1eIZB
Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 7:59am
By Sarah Marie Gresser • When plans change my little brother, Peter, smiles and says, “Oh, I don’t mind it.”
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 7:47am
Review by Peter Eaton • Two encyclopedic works offer great riches for those who wish to wander farther in the field of Orthodox studies.
Friday, January 3, 2014 - 7:21am
Review by Leonard Freeman • “The devil can quote Scripture,” says an old aphorism.
Wednesday, January 1, 2014 - 8:16am
Review by Oliver O’Donovan • In the new climate of contested Anglican identity the status of the Thirty-Nine Articles has evidently changed.
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 - 8:00am
By Calvin Lane and Rob W. Courtney • “Hello, Father, I’d like to have my baby baptized at your church.”
Monday, December 30, 2013 - 7:56am
Review by Jonathan Kanary • Even in the ordinary give-and-take of human relationships and endeavors, our efforts are never quite adequate.
Tuesday, December 24, 2013 - 8:09am
By Justin Welby • Far from waving weapons, they are just waving their arms, going on about angels, and asking about newborn babies.
Friday, December 20, 2013 - 1:09pm
By Matt Marino • All branches of the American church have a problem retaining young adults.
Monday, December 16, 2013 - 9:24am
By Christopher Wells • “I often think of the history of The Living Church and its old mission, articulated with commendable clarity 135 years ago and by subsequent keepers of the flame.”