Essays & Reviews

Thursday, November 21, 2013 - 10:34am
Review by Charles R. Henery • “After I’ve been dead five years, no one will read anything I’ve written.” C.S. Lewis was quite wrong.
Photo: Detail of St. Gregorius Nyssenus, by Bartolozzi
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:25am
We may not think of ourselves as idolaters. But lack of awareness is no adequate assurance that other deities haven’t set up shop in our lives.
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 1:46pm
By Daniel Muth • If God is good, how can there be evil? To many a modern mind, it is the great atheist “gotcha!”
Friday, November 8, 2013 - 11:10am
By Daniel A. Westberg • Health is a self-evident good, with clear benefits for both the individual and the whole of society.
Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 3:35pm
By S.L. Woodford • “I can’t believe I lost my mother this morning,” I type.
Friday, November 1, 2013 - 7:11am
Review by Benjamin M. Guyer • What happens when we strip reproduction of its majesty and mystery?
Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 10:33am
By Daniel A. Westberg • In five eras of the last century a national health program for Americans was proposed with genuine hope for reform.
Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 7:18am
Review by David A. Kalvelage • A stunning book with more than 200 impressive photographs tells the story of the Church of the Transfiguration.
Monday, October 28, 2013 - 12:31pm
By Philip Harrold • No report from the Church of England has sold so well or generated so much reflection as Mission-shaped Church.
Friday, October 25, 2013 - 7:52am
By Randall Balmer • The smoking gun that Bishop Tengatenga’s adversaries brandished turned out to be not even a water pistol.