Essays & Reviews

Friday, June 7, 2013 - 5:29am
Review by Wesley Hill • James V. Brownson argues that gender complementarity is nowhere “explicitly portrayed or discussed” in Scripture.
Tuesday, June 4, 2013 - 10:35am
Review by Gary G. Yerkey • This is an important book written not by some “dispassionate third person,” as the author puts it, but by a loving son.
Image: Dionysus by José de Ribera [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons (
Monday, June 3, 2013 - 6:45am
By G. Willcox Brown • Christ dies once for all, to bring about our flourishing by delivering us from slavery to our lusts.
Thursday, May 30, 2013 - 5:40am
By Christopher Wells Meyer inspires in me a desire to love and trust the Lord more surely and devotedly.
Wednesday, May 29, 2013 - 7:59am
Theologian Andrew Goddard evaluates the Church of England’s Men and Women in Marriage.
Thursday, May 23, 2013 - 11:57am
“When one has faced down a shouting mob of enraged goddess worshipers, enduring one voluble fortune-teller is fairly simple.”
Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 9:02am
By Colin Podmore In the Anglican Communion, what’s true for dioceses is true for provinces.
Friday, May 17, 2013 - 7:32am
By William G. Witt. There is no reason to presume that South Carolina’s declaring itself an extra-provincial diocese is more than an ad hoc solution.
Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 8:06am
By Jesse Zink. The pernicious hermeneutic of self-justification remains a constant temptation.
Monday, May 13, 2013 - 5:25am
By Daniel W. Muth. The HBO series depicts a dark, dank, brutal, depressing but nevertheless engrossing world.