Essays & Reviews

Monday, December 5, 2011 - 12:00am

William James, like Isaiah, may rightly remind us that our lives are not the center of the universe, but James is unable to say as Isaiah says to the people of Judah “Here is your God!”

Friday, December 2, 2011 - 1:44pm

Slater Armstrong writes: “Advent is a season of preparation, of conforming our lives to the reality that Christ is coming in triumph. I am aware of no place on earth that celebrates this watching with greater diligence or devotion than in the Nuba Mountains of Sudan.”

Sunday, November 20, 2011 - 11:56am

By Michael Poon
Accountability and interdependence express our communal life: “one body, one Spirit, one hope, one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God and Father” (Eph. 4:4-6).

Monday, November 14, 2011 - 1:01pm

By Ephraim Radner
Is General Convention a true council of the Church, and if so of what kind?

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 3:09pm

Review by David Heetderks
Many listeners have likely heard Handel’s Messiah (1742) countless times and could sing many of its tunes from memory, but know comparatively less about Charles Jennens’s motivations for assembling its libretto, the conventions of the oratorio genre in which it was written, or Handel’s reasons for turning to the oratorio after several years of composing operas.

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 3:07pm

Review by Michael Poon
These “Sermons from Oxford” testify to the bold ways that Professor Oliver O’Donovan undertook his preaching and teaching ministries for over 30 years, from Toronto to Oxford, and now in Edinburgh.

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 3:00pm

Review by Garwood P. Anderson
This lovely book serves as a scholarly catalog for the “Rembrandt and the Face of Jesus” exhibit.

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 2:44pm

By Lourdes Inapanta
Immediately after the confirmation at General Convention in Anaheim of the election of Bishop Luis Fernando Ruiz, the Diocese of Central Ecuador was full of joy and hope, anticipating better days and a renewed church. At least that is what one group in the diocese was experiencing.

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 2:41pm

By Mark A. Noll
Although I agree wholeheartedly with most of what has been claimed about the beneficent legacy of the Authorized Version, as both a historian and a Christian it has seemed to me that other sides of the King James Version story deserve a hearing. What follows, therefore, is not an attempt to negate positive assessments, but rather an effort to add sober realism to what sometimes becomes runaway triumphalism.

Thursday, November 10, 2011 - 2:37pm

By Mark McCall, Esq.
One of the allegations now being made against Bishop Lawrence is that the decision by the Diocese of South Carolina to continue to adhere to the prior Title IV canons rather than adopt the controversial new revisions constitutes abandonment by being an open renunciation of the discipline of TEC.

Pages