Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 - 6:29am
Yair Rosenberg writes that the theocratic impulse appears across the political spectrum.
Monday, March 18, 2013 - 9:59am
Review by Jonathan Mitchican The future of the Church is not to be found in our efforts to make it more relevant or attractive.
Image by Jjock86 (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0], via Wikimedia Commons (http://goo.gl/ys780)
Friday, March 15, 2013 - 7:44am
Review by Jon Carlson The annual Burning Man festival in the Nevada desert provides a microcosm through which to contemplate our culture.
Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 12:07pm
By Daniel H. Martins We opted to cut our losses and live to fight another day.
Monday, March 11, 2013 - 2:16pm
A recent accord of conciliation fits well into a larger and disturbing pattern of the Episcopal Church’s current leadership.
Justice, by Edward Onslow Ford [public domain], via Wikimedia Commons (http://goo.gl/E1n4R)
Monday, March 11, 2013 - 6:07am
Bishop Daniel Martins writes: “We feel manipulated and victimized. We are nowhere near happy about this outcome.”
Friday, March 8, 2013 - 6:17am
Review by John Martin A cast of nurses and of nuns who pray for patients and sing the Daily Office seemed hardly the stuff of a TV blockbuster.
Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 8:38am
From W. David O. Taylor’s Diary of an Arts Pastor, where all five videos are embedded
Tuesday, March 5, 2013 - 4:31am
Review by Daniel H. Martins The notion that the 1979 prayer book’s baptismal liturgy is significantly unique is widely held but not self-evident.
Friday, February 15, 2013 - 4:48pm
Ten Commandments for Church Websites By Richard J. Mammana, Jr.