Essays & Reviews

Thursday, April 30, 2015 - 4:21pm

“There are forms of change that constitute evolution and there are forms that result from revolution.”

Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 12:42pm

Hardwired songs in our brains, apparently, can be hotwired into our souls.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 7:43am

Olivier Messiaen, a formidable figure in 20th-century modernist music, was a devout Roman Catholic.

Sunday, April 12, 2015 - 5:10pm

The “war of science and religion” is fatuous and enervating.

Thursday, April 9, 2015 - 12:00am

Fr. John E. Owens celebrated students’ marriages, baptized their children, and prayed for them every day.

Friday, March 27, 2015 - 10:08am

Matthew A. Gunter asks: Are we any less self-indulgent than our non-Christian neighbors?

Monday, March 23, 2015 - 10:06am

Red Flamboyant depicts Pham Thi Hue, who runs a support group for HIV-positive women.

Image: Mark Rylance plays the mild-mannered Thomas Cromwell of Wolf Hall. • Masterpiece photo
Friday, March 20, 2015 - 10:25am

Hilary Mantel’s Thomas Cromwell is a mild-mannered family man who teaches his young daughters Latin.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015 - 8:41am

Eight ways to improve your sermons.

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 1:50pm

Mark A. Michael writes: “When you do not know how else to pray, there is always the Litany.”