Essays & Reviews

Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 7:06am
Anglo-Catholic bishops seek “to shape understanding and custom that will engender trust.”
Friday, December 4, 2015 - 1:29pm
Actor Alex Gwyther’s ‘Our Friends, the Enemy,’ a one-man play, depicts the Christmas Truce during World War I.
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 6:24am
Ten books for Advent and Christmas
Friday, November 6, 2015 - 9:42am
Brian d’Arcy James, a lifelong Roman Catholic, plays a reporter in ‘Spotlight.’
Image by James Chan/Pixabay, via Wikimedia Commons • http://is.gd/e5JDQN
Thursday, October 22, 2015 - 2:50pm
Communal forms of prayer start to lose depth if they do not oscillate with solitary personal engagement with God.
Tuesday, October 20, 2015 - 9:34am
The stories in ‘Accidental Saints’ are at their core about one leader’s constant need for Jesus.
Tuesday, October 13, 2015 - 8:14am
The Trappistine Cistercian monastery of Vitorchiano has a unique modern history of growing numbers of Sisters.
Thursday, October 8, 2015 - 11:24am
The world’s primary Christian leader captivated our country with his large-hearted generosity.
Tuesday, October 6, 2015 - 4:46pm
Would the Anglican Communion — and our Compass Rose — smell as sweet if we were a “Federation” or “Association”?
Monday, September 21, 2015 - 8:09am
Everyone tends to blank out the sayings by Pope Francis that are uncomfortable. Resist the impulse.