Essays & Reviews

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 10:07am

By Dennis Raverty • What is surprising, given Marc Chagall’s Jewish background and faith, is the number of Christian themes that emerge in his work.

Friday, November 22, 2013 - 4:52am

“I’ve grown attached to reading 2 Cor. 13:14 through the lens of three images, apportioning its triune blessing among them.”

Thursday, November 21, 2013 - 10:34am

Review by Charles R. Henery • “After I’ve been dead five years, no one will read anything I’ve written.” C.S. Lewis was quite wrong.

Photo: Detail of St. Gregorius Nyssenus, by Bartolozzi
Friday, November 15, 2013 - 10:25am

We may not think of ourselves as idolaters. But lack of awareness is no adequate assurance that other deities haven’t set up shop in our lives.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 1:46pm

By Daniel Muth • If God is good, how can there be evil? To many a modern mind, it is the great atheist “gotcha!”

Friday, November 8, 2013 - 11:10am

By Daniel A. Westberg • Health is a self-evident good, with clear benefits for both the individual and the whole of society.

Wednesday, November 6, 2013 - 3:35pm

By S.L. Woodford • “I can’t believe I lost my mother this morning,” I type.

Friday, November 1, 2013 - 7:11am

Review by Benjamin M. Guyer • What happens when we strip reproduction of its majesty and mystery?

Thursday, October 31, 2013 - 10:33am

By Daniel A. Westberg • In five eras of the last century a national health program for Americans was proposed with genuine hope for reform.

Tuesday, October 29, 2013 - 7:18am

Review by David A. Kalvelage • A stunning book with more than 200 impressive photographs tells the story of the Church of the Transfiguration.

Pages