Essays & Reviews

Friday, December 13, 2013 - 8:06am

The Living Church is here to help with gift ideas for your book-loving friends and family.

Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 7:50am

By Amy Lepine Peterson • We recognize the spiritual reality undergirding our physical existence.

Wednesday, December 11, 2013 - 7:44am

Interview by By Richard J. Mammana, Jr. • The prayer book provides a template for a robust liturgical spirituality that is open, accessible, and possible.

Sunday, December 8, 2013 - 9:32am

By John W. de Gruchy • Nelson Mandela is an icon of opposing evil, enduring suffering, overcoming bitterness, expressing forgiveness.

Thursday, December 5, 2013 - 7:30am

By Leonard Freeman • Since retiring, I’m not exhausted at having just finished a dozen other services this week.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013 - 12:10pm

By Andrew Goddard • This explosive cocktail will likely result in division or at least differentiation among Anglicans in England as it has in North America.

Monday, December 2, 2013 - 8:58am

By Ephraim Radner • “Few meetings are the result of chance.” — Christian de Chergé, Trappist monk, who was martyred in 1996.

Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 10:07am

By Dennis Raverty • What is surprising, given Marc Chagall’s Jewish background and faith, is the number of Christian themes that emerge in his work.

Friday, November 22, 2013 - 4:52am

“I’ve grown attached to reading 2 Cor. 13:14 through the lens of three images, apportioning its triune blessing among them.”

Thursday, November 21, 2013 - 10:34am

Review by Charles R. Henery • “After I’ve been dead five years, no one will read anything I’ve written.” C.S. Lewis was quite wrong.

Pages