lectionary | Page 2 | The Living Church

lectionary

Sunday, January 22, 2017 - 3:27am

Jesus’ teaching, proclamation, and healing are a trinity of attack against sin, the flesh, and the devil.

Jason Pratt/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2iuP1wu
Sunday, January 15, 2017 - 4:27am

“For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them” (Matt. 18:20).

Sunday, January 8, 2017 - 4:27am

Jesus humbles himself to know human weakness, frailty, the fear of death, and death itself.

Image by Michael Matti/Flickr • http://bit.ly/2hqw8hW
Sunday, January 1, 2017 - 3:27am

“When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, ... what are human beings that you are mindful of them?”

meneya/Morguefile • http://bit.ly/2eg7VtZ
Sunday, December 25, 2016 - 3:27am

This tiny infant, this frail being, is an image of the invisible God. God has come down to be among us.

Sunday, December 18, 2016 - 5:27am

Every moment in which grace is given and faith elicited is a vertical intrusion of pure gift.

Sunday, December 11, 2016 - 5:27am

God speaks in ways that are poetically arresting and politically disturbing.

Sunday, December 4, 2016 - 5:02am

Faith is anchored to the past, lives in the present, and moves into an open future.

Sunday, November 27, 2016 - 5:27am

The end will come, but always, as promised by the life-giving Son of God, “at an unexpected hour.” Keep awake!

Image by meneya/Morguefile • http://bit.ly/2eg7VtZ
Sunday, November 20, 2016 - 5:27am

God moves through human agency, promising an heir who will rule in righteousness over the nation.