News

Choir practice is held at St. James School and Saint Mark’s Church in Center City Philadelphia. Choristers sing at the 9 a.m. Eucharist at Saint Mark’s Church each Sunday and on special feast days. • Al Cassidy photo
Friday, March 21, 2014 - 8:06am

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • William Augustus Muhlenberg “had a social commitment that the school should be the Church’s outreach into the world.”

Thursday, March 20, 2014 - 9:26am

Dean Ian Markham: “If we do not take advantage of this opportunity now, then we are unlikely to do this work for at least another decade.”

Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 7:30am

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand: “I think Zion House is a perfect example of what works.”

Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 2:42pm

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • How political should religious communities be when tackling the problem of violence?

Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 8:03am

By Retta Blaney • The Rev. Gregory Johnson might show up at a garage-door opening if he could talk about family caregiving.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 7:22am

By Richard J. Mammana, Jr. • “Congregations are strong when they are filled with disciples rather than habitual Christians.”

Friday, March 7, 2014 - 4:02pm

The March 23 edition of The Living Church is available online to registered subscribers.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014 - 8:38am

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Dinner church includes food, prayers, holy texts, and sharing in the Sacrament.

Thursday, February 27, 2014 - 8:22am

By G. Jeffrey MacDonald • Lent Madness is “so fun you won’t know it’s edifying.”

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 - 9:25am

By Gary G. Yerkey • “The church sometimes has to break the law in the service of a higher law.”

Pages