Sunday's Readings

Theology

  • Sunday, August 25, 2013

Formed in the womb, elected for words to the nations, the preacher is not a man of his own word.

The Flame

  • Sunday, August 18, 2013

Jesus’ love is the white flame that burns away our self-destruction, leaving only the brilliance of his own burning.

Perfect Sacrifice

  • Sunday, August 11, 2013

Coming to the altar with hatred toward your neighbor? Go home.

Christ Is All in All

  • Sunday, August 4, 2013

Christ is the key, the center, the end of all human history.

Judgment and Mercy

  • Sunday, July 28, 2013

Discomfort with judgment is the sting of truth. God sees. The God of all-seeing truth is not, however, without loving-kindness.

Question and Answer

  • Sunday, July 21, 2013

God unfolds in bursting buds, pushes up a bluing heaven, asks questions with obvious answers, and paints pictures clear even to dim eyes.

This Fertile Ground

  • Sunday, July 14, 2013

Christ is the fulfillment of the law; he is not a false and cheap freedom that excuses crime and license.

Blessed are the Poor in Spirit

  • Sunday, July 7, 2013

A rejoicing and pure heart knows nothing of its inherent strength and competence.

The Garment

  • Sunday, June 30, 2013

We are vested for movement; a pilgrim Church in the eschatological age packs only the essentials, preferring titanium lightness.

Strange Stories, Saving God

  • Sunday, June 23, 2013

The Lord is sheer silence. However sheer it may be, it is sound.

Pages